ReadingThe End

You can fly, Mary! by Judith Clay

Reading The End

Read to me
I crave the color of French
today, your tongue on  méringue
makes me smile.

I loved you
the day we wore lime green stockings

to the theatre and talked and talked
in a hush until we couldn’t.

We blew our noses in the new aloe
tissues and walked home without knowing
the ending.

Write to me
about the chickens in the yard
and how they strut to the beat of indie
renaissance, I can feel my wings
growing when home is stitched
in your handwriting.

Read
about me
in the morning
paper.

I’ll wait for you
in

The End.

 

Today over at dVerse, we were treated to the inspiring art of Judith Clay.

Judith Clay is a traditional artist born in Germany who works primarily in ink, pastel, colored pencil, and collage on drawing or watercolor paper.”

 

 

 

24 thoughts on “ReadingThe End

  1. Oh, I so know that longing for far-flung friends, to hear how they fill their day without your presence, and touching on fragmented memories. This really touched me quite deeply.

  2. I can feel my wings
    growing when home is stitched
    in your handwriting.

    is such a beautiful line, I could almost feel wings growing on myself. A lovely read.

  3. the meringue on your tongue…oo la…the color of french, that made me smile as well….the details you chose are a bit quirky and fun…the lime stockings and the aloe tissue…no need to see the ending really…smiles….cool

  4. the color of french..this is wonderful….tongue on méringue… love all the little touches like blowing the nose in aloe tissues as well…the chicken strutting to the beat of indie renaissance – ha – so cool

Speak to me of thoughts unspoken.

