Sound Poetry

Bummer. 

I forgot about the WordSmith Studio Friday Poetry Prompt
and that means it’s a double post day.

But, the prompt was so intriguing, I had to juggle it. 

Listen to this prompt: Write a Sound Poetry poem. 

“Sound poetry is an artistic form bridging between literary and musical composition, in which the phonetic aspects of human speech are foregrounded instead of more conventional semantic and syntactic values; ‘verse without words’. By definition, sound poetry is intended primarily for performance.” – Wikipedia

I listened to a sound poetry video and frankly couldn’t get into it because it
sounds like . . . a bunch of sounds. I’m sure there’s beauty in it if you’re into a version of Glossolalia but I like to understand what I’m reading. 

However, listening and doing are two different perspectives. Creating sounds
could be a joyful experience, reuniting one with childhood play. There are rhythms, repetition, alliteration, consonance, pauses. Nevertheless, I am stumped how to
write one that is readable.

So, I played with one sound and gave it meaning.

Consider me a boring realist.

“Sleep free”

Free sweet Free sweet
Reeeeeeee-
peat

Free ME . . . WE see
see HE . . .  SHE Free

in THEE WE plea Free

Sweeeeet Freeeeeee Re-
Peat Sweet.

Weeeep Sleeeeek  sleek
sleeeeep sleek sleep
free.

Repeat—
SLEEP FREE

***

For more in depth reading about Sound Poetry, keep clicking.

6 thoughts on “Sound Poetry

Speak to me of thoughts unspoken.

