Crazy Poet or Genius?

File:Elsa von Freytag-Loringhoven.jpg

                                      (This is a file from the Wikimedia Commons)

The Baroness Elsa von Freytag Loringhoven

 Crazy Poet? or Genius?

The Baroness was an avant-garde poetess, actress, entertainer that lived from 1894-1927. I’m not going to rewrite her bio but suffice it to say she was quite a character.

Ryerson University calls her “. . . a neurasthenic, kleptomaniac, and man-chasing proto-punk poet and artist.” She was  “the first American Dada” not only dressed and behaved with purposeful outrageousness, but she set an example that went well beyond the eccentric divas of the twenty-first century.”

You can find poems written by her on the web. 

She wrote in a dada-ist style. I think next time I’ll give an example of what that is.
For those of you who don’t write poetry, I guarantee you can write a dada poem. 

Meanwhile, stir up A Dozen Cocktails and read some Baroness poetry.

(I don’t advocate drinking a dozen cocktails–that’s the name of one of her poems.)

 

9 thoughts on “Crazy Poet or Genius?

      • Me neither. I knew I probably wouldn’t be able to do all the work, but I also knew that I would get something out of it no matter how much I was ultimately able to do.

  1. I’ve been in love with Dada and Man Ray and that ilk for millions of years. (marginal exageration) I’ve forgotten about Baroness. Thanks for the inspiration JLynn. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Just For Today « Misky

  3. There are days, like today when I’m hanging out limp, wet bedsheets on the line, and the air is more soggy with mist than the sheets are damp, that I think this woman might have the right idea. Just go a bit wild and be a bit over-the-top and be what we shouldn’t be. Actually, I think I can re-jig this reply into a poem!!

Speak to me of thoughts unspoken.

