Poetic Science Experiment

Today’s blood, sweat, and tears are resulted from Naming Constellations Foundry Poem Day.

Think in scientific terms-melting, boiling, gas (ing?.)

Hypothesis:Changing a poem’s state of matter will change the meaning.

Purpose: Melt, boil, ignite pre-written poem. Mold it into a new one.

Materials: One wordy poem

Procedure:

1.  Melt it: The idea of melting is that all of the essential pieces of the poem should be in place, but in a simpler form. Let complex verb tenses collapse; cut out tiny words that were chosen for the sake of meter; liquefy a few commas and periods; maybe drip one line into two.

2. Boil it: Try taking the poem and turning at least one image to allusion, as well as removing at least one descriptor.

3. Ignite it: At this point, break down even the essential grammar and linguistics of the poem;

My Constant:

The Lover Tells of the Rose in His Heart

by William Butler Yeats

All things uncomely and broken, all things worn out and old,
The cry of a child by the roadway, the creak of the a lumbering cart,
The heavy steps of the ploughman, splashing the wintry mould,
Are wronging your image that blossoms a rose in the deeps of my heart.

The wrong of unshapely things is a wrong too great to be told;
I hunger to build them anew and sit on a green knoll apart,
With the earth and the sky and the water, re-made, like a casket of gold
For my dreams of your image that blossoms a rose in the deeps of my heart.

My Data:

1. Melting

All things ugly, broken, worn, old.
a child crying by a road, wagon squealing
The ploughman’s heavy steps, splashing snow drifts,
your image blossom like a rose in my heart.

unshapely things are too greatly wrong to be told;
I hunger to rebuild them upon a green knoll,
the earth, the sky, the water, re-made, like gold
your image blossoms like a rose in my heart.

2. Boiling

All things ugly broken, worn, old
child crying by the road, wagon squealing
The ploughman’s steps across snow drifts
But your image is a blossom in my heart.

unshapely things remain untold
I hunger to rebuild them upon a knoll,
the earth, the sky, the water, re-made, like gold
But, your image is a blossom in my heart.

3. Igniting

“Image of You”

thebrokentheworntheold
the child crying by the road,
a car screeching,
heavy dirty steps in snowdrifts.

You are the rose within my heart.

I long to silence the annoying
images and recreate
  theearththeskythewater,
and meld them like gold.

You are the rose within my heart.

Conclusion: I seem to have a skeleton of the original. My data almost proves my hypothesis. But, it’s inconclusive. Need another variable to throw in there and will reattempt this a few hundred more times because I enjoyed the process.

6 thoughts on “Poetic Science Experiment

  1. It really is good fun to do this exercise, eh? I very much like your final version. I like the way you’ve buckled those few words together also, very clever that.

Speak to me of thoughts unspoken.

