The Princess Bride

Last Sunday, Poetic Bloomings posted a prompt that looked like fun.
You were suppose to take the title of a movie or TV show and use that
as the title of your poem but not give a synopsis of the show. However,
I noticed that they have done a prompt where you take a favorite line
from a movie or show and use that. So, I did both. I took several favorite
lines from one of my favorite movies and strung them together in a narrative.

If you’re not a Princess Bride fan, you might think not connect with this.

“Princess Bride”

I do not think that word means what you
think it means, you say to me.

But, that’s inconceivable, I say with a huff.

I say love
means chocolate miracles and storming castles
and perfect breasts and surviving the Forest with
Rodents of Unusually Large Size hand-in-hand.

and love
means you will always come for me.

and love,
my Love,
cannot be broken by a thousand words.

True love
is the greatest thing in the world.

No, my Love,
I believe it is you who does not
know what that word means,
I say with my dreamy eyes.

You say,
if you think it is the greatest
thing in the world then it is the greatest thing
in the world.

And with your own dreamy eyes,
I see you say—as you wish.

But with your mouth,
I hear—
“except for perhaps, a nice mutton, lettuce
and tomato sandwich where the mutton is
nice and lean and the tomato is ripe.”

9 thoughts on “The Princess Bride

  1. Oh, my you are a clever girl. I love that you quoted, “that’s inconceivable!” I’m a total Princess Bride fan.

    Actually –this is so silly–but whenever I ask my hubby to do something onerous, he says “As you wish.” I knew there was a reason I married him. *grins*

Speak to me of thoughts unspoken.

