The flight of the raven

                    PAD Day 26

Quoted from Robert Brewer’s PAD blog:

“For today’s prompt, write an animal poem.
The poem can be about an animal, just reference an animal,
or well, however you’d like to handle writing an animal poem.”

963547_35901892
“The flight of the raven”

All I was thinking was that the breeze
blew just for me that day, that season, that year,
to carry me like a storm
driven upon strong winds
into the sun during this
drivel of time.

What I touched withered.
What I carried on the gale winds
faltered, what I wished remained just a wish.

My desire was to see an unfurrowed
brow in my mirror, one that would replace my fear
but every time I washed my
hands, I washed again, and then again
during this drivel of time

where I was sent wafting with the ravens
our flights stagnant against the
torrents of breath
and time.

(photo: stock.xchng:vivekchugh)

4 thoughts on “The flight of the raven

  1. I really like these lines:
    “What I touched withered.
    What I carried on the gale winds
    faltered, what I wished remained just a wish.”
    There is something awful, but at the same time beautiful portrayed.

Speak to me of thoughts unspoken.

